Sue Foll's picture of the day

By POD2008

"I want to tell you a secret"

These beautiful women were promoting Marylebone Interiors Day today.

I thought I'd stumbled into an Anish Kapoor sculpture to start with, and in the way I did. A sound version anyway. I understood what they were doing immediately.

The women whisper into the concave sculptures but can hear each other clearly although they are facing away from each other.

It's one of the many interesting things about acoustics and I guess is designed to make   you question how you use it in your home.

Addendum: Dalal, the artist contacted me later to add further information. She said : "I created these "sound domes" by dipping a large piece of fabric into plaster. I ended up hanging it and allowing gravity to create a strong and almost perfect curve (hence why it looks like the wind is blowing it). My structure is an illusion of something which is heavy visually turned into something which seems light weight and blown away. 

Finally, it encourages people to focus on what others say to them. It ironically represents the beauty of silence meaning you don't need to be loud to be heard. "

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.