Mersea view

What a lovely sunny day :)  Mum and I both managed to get rather burnt noses today - and I got sunburn on my hands, too, from pushing her wheelchair.  It was apparently only 10 degrees though, so everything else was well covered up.  I look a bit odd now!

We drove a little further east to the West Mersea beach huts, and had a really lovely walk all along the full length of them (and there are many!) - and even beyond, along a lovely grassy path up above the sea.  All really accessible with the wheelchair, which was great. 

We also stopped for an ice cream down by the beach huts, almost right on the beach (again, pretty good going with the chair), and managed to identify almost the exact spot where my Mum's family used to have a hut, as well as the water tap she used to be sent to at the start of a day at the beach :)  On the way back to the car, we stopped here up above the huts, looking out to sea while I ate some lunch (Mum still full from breakfast, and the ice cream), and Mum caught up on the phone with my cousin's wife.

Later on we went back to our hotel room, and Mum had a rest and wrote some postcards while I nipped back over to the beach with my camera and tripod and had a go at some long exposure shots (finally using the ten stop filter I bought months ago).  It was pretty chilly though, so I didn't hang around for too long.  A little later, after popping back to the room, I drove back over to the beach huts and walked even further east, almost but not quite to East Mersea, and then back again.  It was so peaceful - in fact, bordering on lonely, so I thought I'd probably not go too far - I barely saw another soul.

Drove back again, and picked up some fish and chips for our tea.  A lovely last day and evening on Mersea Island.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.