Cailleach

By Cailleach

Pompeii -ous Ass....

Doris bought me this small amphora in Italy, many years ago. The vendor assured him it was an antique, but Doris caught a glimpse of loads of identical ones in the stockroom. The only antique thing about it was the thick layer of dust on the handles (which I have lovingly recreated in my own home!)

Yesterday at work, I took a prescription out to a very elderly Morningside (ie posh) lady, who started telling me about her imminent trip to Pompeii.

'I can't remember exactly when the volcano erupted' she said, so I told her that it was 79AD, and she looked at me in amazement.

'Good grief,' she said. 'how would a shop girl know a thing like that?'

I was brought up to respect older people, so I didn't go off like Vesuvius....my anger shall remain dormant.

For now.......





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.