Banksia Blunder!!

I was amazed at how dangerous it was to wander around outside to take a photo of a banksia flower for my blip.  I had a lovely time mooching around, the light was wonderful as it was late in the day.  Just as I started to head back to the house I unfortunately tripped on a small Tea Tree route and fell flat on my face.  Happily my Sony ILCE6000 survived the fall although not before bouncing up and hitting me fair and square in the cheek :-(((  

Happily I survived the fall but I'm determined to have a "Busy Bee" with my gardening and maintenance buddy Michael to remove as many of these little blip minefields as possible.  Tomorrow we'll be out in force after having to postpone our big day clearing the track to Wombat Rock because of heavy rain.  I can't wait to restore it to "Safe" mode so that we can walk it again on a regular basis.  My job will be to clear the last 50 metres from the main track down to the rock.  

When the fires went through Wombat Hollow in 2002 we had an opportunity to create a very safe walk and I can remember walking ahead of the tractor with its big blade and putting the surveyors ribbon on the burnt out trees to show the way.  Just before we finished the job, Mick the tractor man carried an old picnic table out to the rock on the front of his machine.  He had to prop it up on an old stump because two of the legs had been burnt.  It's still there today and one of our projects is to replace the timbers on top of the table.  They've warped quite severely and once repaired we'll be able to sit out there once again with a thermos and our morning tea or lunch.  "Happy Days"  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.