Leiflife

By Leiflife

Lone Green Heron

At this time of year I long for a glimpse of this bird. One of the more colorful herons, and small, not to mention shy... But once in a while one lingers as this most fortunate woman creeps silently close enough to capture beauty and charm. This charming beauty is totally aware of my presence, as you can see from the fierce alertness of that yellow eye. And very soon I am only capturing an iridescent flash of color and feathers. I am totally grateful for this one clear image...this gift received on my walk to the water's edge.

I rarely see more than one, so I call this one lone, and relate to its solitary stance. And if I was feeling my solitude more deeply on this morning in May... If it was registering more as isolation than solitude, then the sight of this lone bird in its confident self-hood turned whatever ache of sorrow I had  nurtured into gladness and gratitude.

I enclose an extra, taken on a different day in a different mood, when the sight of this elderly couple - obviously long-time companions - engaged my heart. I saw beauty here, too, of a different sort, and the camera was raised, quickly and surreptitiously. I can only hope they would see it as an honoring of their togetherness. I see it as something I can appreciate but not really relate to. I am still a lone bird.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.