Information Retrieval

By Syetuttle

Finished On A High

The day came and went, starting with the Chester Half Marathon......

13 and a bit miles of non stop running. A busily packed Chester city enjoyed the occasion apart from fellow drivers trying to do a spot of shopping (doh). The weather was almost perfect: cool, dry and lightly breezy. And the sun came out later keeping us warm(er) whilst waiting for each other. There was a downside however. One of our team runners, J, collapsed close to the finish line with a serious back injury. Though this dampened our spirits, he was still able to show us his trademark smile, braving the agony whilst being helped along by others. Sadly myself and a couple of others could not help him because of our height differences (J is rather short). We were all gutted for him because he was sure to get the fastest time out of all of us. Top marks for all the volunteers, marshalls, ambulance crews who looked after him. And cheers to all those who cheered us on.... it took me until the tenth mile why everyone was cheering me on (well done Simon etc) when I realised my name was printed on my feckin number! Doh.
Bring it on again next year...

It didn't end there. I spent the rest of the journey home eating non stop. Mrs Tuttle ran a bath and made a fab pizza tea. Aces. Took a stroll down the canal, took some pics (see extras) and then my son and I had fin swimming. Yep that's right. We did an hour of fin swimming. Tuttle jnr thought I was mental. So did the trainer. Strangely enough, it felt good.

I see myself sleeping well tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.