Bud

At last, a day of fine weather, largely spent tackling the phenomenal amount of growth in the garden, which has been stimulated by the recent rain. I had a whole list of chores to do, but achieved rather few, despite feeling as though I'd worked quite hard. So hard, indeed, that I nearly forgot to take any photographs!

This is the bristly bud of an Iceland poppy, bought this morning during a quick visit to Notcutt's for some peat-free compost. I can rarely walk past the plants without buying something, and love poppies of all types. A 20% reduction in the price was another incentive. I photographed the bloom, which is an attractive shade of yellowish-orange, but preferred the simplicity of the bud, which I layered with a texture.

Off to bed now - I need some rest before another couple of long fieldwork days!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.