Mono Monday . . . Running Dialogue

A water shute rising up, dark rocks are tumbled in the stream bed, dappled light, drooping ferns over the track, pool of water below the rocks, intake structure rising like steps behind and above, bright sun light at the very top of the slope, shafts of bright light on the left, he is stepping across, one, two, click.
That is my running dialogue from my walk to Reservoir Creek this morning.  I don't know if I like this way of preparing for a photo or not.  I usually have some of that listing dialogue running in my head but I don't say it.  Knowing I had to write it down today did make me wait longer before I clicked.  That is the point of this exercise . . . stay in the moment. I will try it a few more times and see what happens. 
The structure you can see is a fish passage.  It is built on the site of a historic dam that used to supply drinking water to Richmond.  Eels, freshwater crayfish and Kokopu/small native fish, can be found in the stream.  The fish passage slows the water so the fish can migrate to complete their life cycles.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.