A Portrait of the artist.....

The theme of this week's MonoMonday, is Running Dialogue, the object being to allow the viewer into the head of the photographer while composing an image.

It seems a bit dangerous (a recent brain scan "found nothing" which is, in one way, a bit disconcerting) but here is the dramatic dialogue...

We decided to go to Poole Quay to photograph any one of the tall ships that were in port to celebrate the Maritime Festival as I hoped to get a photograph of a tall ship in full sail but it was not to be although The Pelican of London was moored up but every shot I tried at every angle included people who were equally eager to see a tall ship plus there were cars parked in view and white lines and signposts and all sorts of man made ephemera that I hate in photos and while doing this I noticed a man sitting on the dock, reclining against a bollard making a water colour painting of the ship so I asked him if I could take his photo of him making the sketch, to which he agreed and so I introduced myself which is what I do when taking a portrait to disarm the subject and he gave me his name and strangely asked for my surname which I gave him and he asked if I was related to someone he knew and it was by strange coincidence, my wife who was sitting patiently in the car and so she came over to say hello and chatted while I tried to improve my photo by leaving out the sort of items that other street photographers favour.


Here is Tom, painting

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.