Brimham biking and cuckoos calling

I needed to prove to myself that cycling doesn't cause migraines so I headed out to Pateley Bridge today with the possible short extension of heading up to Brimham Rocks if the hill didn't look too steep.

We've driven up that road on numerous occasions to go climbing and I did have a recollection of it being steep in a car. But, when I looked at it today, it seemed OK - must have been the effect of being in a vehicle. So I headed up between the houses.  

I'm not sure I'd even rounded the bend when it kicked up.  And just kept on going!

But, I wasn't going to let that stop me, I'd decided.  And sadly, that's how my head works.

Anyway, I got there at my best trundling pace, had a little mosey round the paths of Brimham before heading back through Glasshouses and over Nought Bank home.  It was less than 40 miles but that route always feels like a killer.

I heard four different cuckoos calling which was lovely as I don't think our local one has returned this year.  The last one made me smile up the final little incline at the top of Askwith Moor - and I didn't half need it.

Rich has been out since and we were both hungry at 4pm so we had dinner with a plan for a takeaway pizza at 8pm if we needed it.  It's now 6.30pm and it feels like 9pm but it's a lovely feeling.

And no migraine! :)

UPDATE: Pizza on order. Shame GF only in medium!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.