A walk on the wild side

I walk up beside the school listening to the children in the playground but not seeing them behind the high hedge, although truth be told I couldn't see them even over a short hedge.

The parkland is quiet except for the birds dashing backwards and forwards in the urgent quest to feed their young. As I walk through the woods I hear fledglings calling from a hole in a tree trunk and hang about for a while waiting for a parent, but give up after a few minutes and continue my walk.

Milly the Dalmatian heads towards me for a bit of attention and her owner and I have a quick chat before walking on. As I turn the corner at the far end of the wood I can see a hornet darting around the trees, looking either for a nest site or some prey.

Not much further along I can hear more fledglings calling for food and look up to see two holes in the trunk of a tree. I lay in wait again and my patience is rewarded by a very agitated Greater Spotted Woodpecker. I'm not sure which of the two holes hides the nest but I leave them to it, happy in the knowledge there are at least two Woodpecker nests in the wood.

My contribution to the very difficult mono Monday challenge.

We had a lovely afternoon with Anniemay and Igor going through the settings on JJ's new camera. See extra. Me? I'm still deciding.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.