Grafton Road

Nearly at the hospital this morning on my way to work, I was struck by the blinding sunlight (hidden here by the trees, but still striking the heads of the pedestrians crossing Grafton Road from Grafton Bridge into Park Road), contrasting with haze and mist out on the Waitemata Harbour and beyond to the Hauraki Gulf around Rangitoto.

Managed to win the email war today, and either read and deal with, or decide to ignore, all the messages. Some are very important, relevant, and actually need my attention. Some are messages sent to all staff in case they want to know that the IT people are doing things. Most pass across my consciousness into the depths of amnesia. I just hope that there is no exam to follow.

This evening we went to a Royal Society of NZ lecture by Professor Bruce Clarkson from Waikato University, on his field of urban bioregeneration. He has researched, demonstrated effectiveness, and is now promoting the idea of regenerating indigenous plants in the cities. Waikato University is in Hamilton, which has one of NZ's lowest percentages of land in native plantings.Over the last 20 - 30 years he has been able to show that it is possible to change apparently inimical land into indigenously planted areas.

I have posted my first backblip from the train trip we had in Australia last week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.