Elephant

Last night was the second time in less than 2 years when I've come home from a gig to hear of carnage at a gig elsewhere (the last time was the night of the Bataclan attacks). I didn't know when I went to bed what we do now - this was a terror attack in Manchester.

The world probably doesn't really need me to add my 2p to the matter, but, on the other hand I feel a bit like there's an elephant in the room if I don't at least acknowledge it in some way.

I've always gone to gigs since I was at school. The first band I saw live was Thin Lizzy and I remember it well, not quite like it was yesterday, but it's an hour or two that will stay with me. There was a few of us from my class who went and for many of us it was the popping of our gig-going cherry. And that was the thing, here was a shared experience we enjoyed together at the time and then talked about later. I wasn't even a big fan. That didn't matter.

Over the years, I've seen many great bands and a fair few rubbish ones. More recently, as many of you know, I've been shooting gigs on a more regular basis for a Liverpool based website. I do it because I love it and it gives me a wider outlet for my work. It has given me a place in the cultural output of the city, to be a part of what's making the people of Liverpool tick. It allows me to be a member of the community.

And that, I think is why I find the Manchester attack particularly egregious. Given the likely demographic at an Ariana Grande gig it was no surprise to hear this afternoon one of the dead was aged just 8. Probably her first gig and, most certainly her last. And for what? What is the point being made by setting off a bomb at a gig like that? For I don't get it.

I mean, I get a part of it. A twisted ideology. A desire to create fear, division and, perhaps, retaliation. Get the country in lock down and make people believe their every waking hour is at risk. It's about perception.

This wasn't an attack on a shopping mall or a Manchester Street where you might kill a few score random strangers. This was an attack on a shared, communal, experience. And that is what, I think, makes it hurt that much more.

I don't like flying much, but I know its safe and I still do it. I don't like bombs at gigs much, but gigs are still safe and I'll continue to go. So, here's to Sound City at the weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.