OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Rackwick, Hoy, from the South

I went over to Lyness and caught the community bus to the track up to Heldale Water meaning to circle around a few hills and walk back to Lyness. But it was such a beautiful day, I had an OS map and plenty of time so I walked to Rackwick instead. Good placenames along the cliffs- I walked over the Green Heads and up to the Candle of the Sneuk, then Santoo Head and White Chest. I had lunch at Geo of the Lame and then walked around the hill and down by Runcigill to the very wet moor before the road. I was pretty tired. I thought I'd make the 6.15 ferry but saw that Albert in his bus had stopped on the road and was waiting for me. So I had to flounder and pech all the way at speed knowing a busful of people were watching. I thought they might come to help but old ladies are so selfish! Anyway- I made the 4.30 ferry instead. The photos are not in order. Birds: loads of bonxies, just one pair of arctic skuas. Stonechats, willow warblers etc. I saw a small falcon and thought it a hobby but didn't get a long look or photo. Later, I saw that one was seen on Burray and South Ronaldsay.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.