Done and dusted

What a day today has been! Started with amber rain warning, to red rain warning and then black rain, which is basically buckets of water falling from the sky, it's actually stronger than people's showers at home!!!! It was INSANE!

And there was little old me, armed with my overnight bag and MRIs and X-rays heading to Central with a huge umbrella, to keep me as dry as possible.

A lot of people who got on the ferry were completely drenched, and going to work in that state. I can't even imagine. I actually waded through water as the Plaza was flooded. I honestly think it was the heaviest rain I've ever been in.

Met Ev on the other side and she accompanied me in to the hotel ... I mean hospital. Yes Matilda Hospital is also known as Matilda Hotel. It's fancy.

We were drenched by the time we got here and thankfully the hospital had towels waiting for people as they came in.

All checked in and prepped for surgery at 1:30 and off I went. Jon had arrived by the time I was out of surgery. Happy to report that all has gone well and I have already walked with and without crutches. Two and a half hours after surgery. Not bad!

I'm in a room with a lady (called Cassie) who was air lifted out of Nanjing as she fell and broke her hip! Nanjing has no facilities to carry out this major surgery.

And .... there was a China Eastern airplane that landed in the black rainstorm and had skidded off the runway and made headline news in HK. One of the passengers is a friend of Cassie's and actually came in to see her and told us all about it!

Goodness, what a day! Hope I'm all sorted now with my knee. Not feeling any pain, but plenty of swelling.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.