So hot today...

...but I had to go to the city to sort some stuff and paperwork. It was mostly one on one interactions with strangers with not too much background noise. So, in a sense not too much for my new mapping to cope with. I was surprised at the lack of people

I went to a supermarket and again it was very empty which surprised me. I did my shopping easily, stocking up on essentials, but when I left the till to walk out of the store I didn't realise I had left my shopping at the till. Someone touched my arm, and I realised they had been shouting/calling at me 'cos I was nearly out of the shop. So went back and got my bag to put on my wheelie. I hadn't heard them shouting or calling. I/the processor didn't pick that sound up. But I had done a lot that morning up to that point. So presumably brain was too tired to interpret sounds.

I knew it was time to go home.

At home went into a deep sleep within minutes for a few hours. Then I picked myself up for the potting shed (and pencils and sketch book) which pleased Popeye (he was pleased he could sit on me, but moody that I was sketching).

So, been working on these drawings on how the processor picks up bird's calls. The top one is the Great Tit's voice. It varied so much, but there was a type of pattern. A crow flew over so all the birds went into alarm call. The bottom two lines are the way the Great Tit went into alarm call.

The bottom pencil drawing is the Song Thrush's voice. It is a very long and varied song. My brain interprets this song into words. And if I hear 'Robert Green' repeated, and then later 'Robert Blair', and then 'Robert...(something?), and then 'Theta, theta, theta', I know I have the Song Thrush!

So, this is my drawings for today for my challenge to myself of a pic every day in 2017.

I have to go to the city again tomorrow. More paperwork. Sooner it is done the better. Then hopefully on to art later.

Then I have four days to myself to recharge my batteries...because we have a Bank Holiday Monday...and I might be able to extend it to Tuesday. I need this. And I want to do some research on voices. I have some stuff to read on it too. I also shopped today at an organic farm shop and found some nice dark chocolate chocolate treats :)


[This is my artist's perception of sounds as they are now after being drastically changed after the remapping of my cochlear processor. I am readjusting to the different sounds, which are actually vastly different, as it is now suggested I was never mapped properly in the first place which is why I have struggled the last few years.]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.