dreaming

By dreaming

Hard work

Every month there is a birthday celebration in my senior apartment building, with food brought in but set up and service done by residents.  As this is my birthday month, today I went to my first one in ten years here (I tend to keep to myself.)  It was an interesting experience.  Here you see a photo of Brandi, who was in charge of actually holding the whole production together,; she is funny and tough, and put in a lot of time today to give us a good party.

When I first moved in here, I wasn't sure what sort of folks I would find.  We started a book club, but at the first meeting one woman said she didn't feel comfortable in a club with college graduates.  As someone with a Ph.D., I knew I wasn't wanted.  The population of the building has changed a great deal over the years, I think, and I decided to give this a try.  I ended up sitting with two women with early Alzheimers, a giddy woman with intellectual limitations, and a sweet old lady who had nothing to say.  Not what I had hoped for.

I think I will try again next month, and get there much earlier so that I can choose where I want to sit and with whom.

The Extra is a shot of Minkelina taken this morning by my trainer that I think is just lovely.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.