CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

A jackdaw fledging in the ash tree nest

I'm enjoying getting up early now on these summer mornings. After I had made tea I saw two bullfinches in the tree outside our bedroom window looking spectacularly colourful now they seem to have new feathers. I went to get my camera but disturbed them in the process and they flew down the garden.

I went downstairs and out into the garden to enjoy the lovely light and then heard the sound of the squawking birds in the ash tree. I have been watching the nesting antics of various birds and wondered which of the various species had ended up occupying the old green woodpecker's nest carved in the ash tree at the bottom of the garden. 

I walked down the garden and saw four black birds prancing about on the limb of the tree and then they flew away into thick leaves. I then concentrated my attention on the hole just below the limb and waited. Then I was delighted to see this little head appear and look at me. It seems to be a jackdaw. It then got out and flew a short distance away, but unfortunately my camera stalled just at that moment.

I have blipped a picture of a young green woodpecker poking its head out of this same hole some years ago. In the meantime various animals have investigated and tried to use it as a nest, which surprises me as it it so close to our house.

Squirrels went in and out of it during the winter, and then crows and magpies all investigated. In recent weeks I've heard the sound of young birds which I thought came from a nest but this is the first time i have seen a young bird in it.

I want to spend more time in the garden and it is now attractive to et up for the dawn chorus. Unfortunately there have also been the rather less pleasant sounds of Bomble seeing off other neighbourhood cats who also rather like our garden and put his back up no end. I hope it doesn't end in a big 'bundle' as there are quite a lot of young contenders for Bomble's title of king of his garden.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.