Think, try, share

By JonBusby

The Meeting Point

I was retuning from a visit to see clients in Sheffield. I had a caught a slightly earlier train so arrived in to St Pancras about 30 minutes before I had expected to.

Normally, to avoid the disembarking Eurostar crowds, I walk to the second set of escalators to descend down to Tube level but when I got to them they were both in ascending mode. Rather than walk back I thought I would walk to the end of the concourse and take the stairs down as this would bring me to the Betjeman statue, (put there for the tireless work he did in saving the station), and Paul Day's The Meeting Point.

The Meeting Point is so striking but I had never noticed the details on the plinth before because I had always seen it from afar or in a hurry. This picture is just one of many details depicting scenes of endurance and routine. The bronze details are only a few inches deep but the depth of perspective is quite staggering.

I have put some of the other shots in a Flickr album here if you want to see more.

That was a lovely end to the day. Good meetings earlier too.

The Photobore Bit - I am back playing with my little Canon Ixus. What I lose in functionality I gain in portability. It is also a little bit more discrete for certain shots and I can just pull it out go my pocket. On business trips there is simply no room to carry the D40. I just need to remind myself how to get more manual control of it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.