Free as a bird

By freebird

Last of the wallflowers

Last evening was perfect for doing a bit of gardening so I decided that it was time to pull up the wallflowers. I felt quite sad because they have given me so much pleasure for so long. The plants were bought last October. I always try to find the variety 'Persian Carpet' because it has such beautiful colours - some bright yellows and oranges but also lovely muted creams and salmon pinks and gorgeous mahogany and deep red. I plant them where I can see them from the kitchen window and watch their progress through autumn, into winter and then rejoice as they bud up and burst into bloom. Their scent always reminds me of junior school and the headdresses my Mum would make for the May Day parade. She would pick the flowers from the garden which my father tended so enthusiastically in those far off days in the Fifties. Simple pleasures and lovely memories...


For the record: Very warm and sunny. Max 21C

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.