See it, Snap it, Share it

By pplnani

Ambushed

I braved a walk in the ever increasing heat ( I hate to complain but it's too hot too quickly for me - 27 degrees ) .......I only managed to plod round the fields for about half an hour before I got way too hot :-(........as I walked along the edge of the field trying to get in the shade of the tall hedge, this magnificent creature soared over from the other side of the hedge......I didn't even hear it coming.......fortunately I had the camera ready as I was after a bird ( or two, haha) in the bush.......I didn't get my birds in the bush but I'm wondering if this counts as a bird in the hand :-))

I have another dilemma......on Monday I went to see two really lovely cats which I'm falling for, that need a home. I got on very well with them but they are five and have always lived indoors.......they've not been to the vets until recently and one of them refuses to get in the carry basket so isn't vaccinated, which is a worry :-/........but my biggest worry is that they have no idea how dangerous the outside world is for a cat and we couldn't bear them not to enjoy life to the full.
We live in a cul-de-sac but there is often a lot of traffic manoeuvring around, sometimes way too fast and have quite a few neighbourhood cats who visit the garden and I've no idea how these two I went to see would react to all that :-/

Do any of you know if ( after a settling in period) it's possible to successfully allow mature adult house cats into the outside world?..........I just worry that they might get spooked and run off and not be able to look after themselves :-(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.