A long sunny day...

...and rather hot, for my journey over the Pennines. I had the very enjoyable task of picking up my grandchildren from their school.

Because you can't be late for such an important job, I always make a day of the trip, finding something to photograph in the area in the middle of the day.

Today my subject was a section of the Leeds Liverpool Canal connecting the communities of Oswaldtwistle, Church and Accrington. This particular reflection shot was in the middle of the walk at Church. Behind me is a rather ugly industrial estate (see extra).

The particular interest for me is that, close to the spot from which I took the extra shot, on the other side of the canal, are the ruined remains of the house where my grandparents lived, in 1921, when my father was born. Sadly, I haven't a photo of the house when it was still standing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.