Sprout lover

By robharris35

Thurs trouble wi' t'phone line

I have verbal diarrhoea when I talk about South Sudan. I had it today explaining about the project to a potential new recruit. Let's hope I can dial it back a tad next week when I go to a funders' conference.

The morning was frustrating as the BT engineer couldn't figure out how to connect up my phone line and I had to do a lot of farcical running around locating some painters and decorators who for some reason held the only key to the cupboard we needed to access. All to no avail. I should have known it wasn't going to end well when we finally gained access to the right box of wires and Steven (in an authentic Bradford accent) FaceTimed his mate to say 'oi, you ever sin owt like thi'?'

I was told by someone that today was the hottest May day on record, which I find hard to believe. However it was bloody lovely. By late evening there was a definite chill but that could have been my body's way of protesting why I'd chosen to spend the evening writing a policy for our volunteer group with Heidi at her garden table, rather than lie on one of Cambridge's many greens, gorging on picnic food.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.