St Laurence

A much more successful trip to Ramsgate  than last year.  Firstly we found the grave of  William & Mary Ann Goodbourn my 3x great grandparents with the help of a map from the parish office and the fortuitous bumping into a helpful lady who knew the graveyard very well. Secondly, the helpful lady had a key to the church and showed us round the inside and gave us our own personal tour of this very historic old church.  Like yesterday, it was good that Uncle Graham had brought his scythe and shears with him but this grave was in better condition.  I am interested that Mary Ann's maiden name was Foord - which looks Dutch to me, so if any of my Dutch blipping friends are reading this- I may have a tiny % of Dutch blood. Mary Ann died in 1874.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.