Last day

All good things must come to an end, and after the last (anti-Trump themed) plenary talk, I took the shuttle bus to the Grouse Mountain cable car. In theory this would give great views of Vancouver, but it was too hazy and trees were in the way. I did get to see two impressive captive grizzlies and take a further cable car to a summit where I got a view of real mountains. Back down, I was just in time to meet up with my colleague from Chicago, my PhD student and a Brazilian PhD student from Montréal. We first went out to the Granville Island Brewery where we drank a lot of beer before and during a pub quiz which saw us getting crushed, even in Science and Technology - although we did get the Pythagoras question right! Finally, my student, the Brazilian and I ended up in a downtown bar, drinking beyond midnight. A good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.