S is for Sebastian!

Dear Diary,

Finally, I saw Sebastian again.  He lives in the stone wall behind the house and I keep an eye out for him every day.  But this day he had slithered down to the raised bed garden to catch some morning sunshine.  It made me chuckle to see his tail form a perfect "S"!  His pattern is so lovely and he is a completely harmless, an Eastern Garter.  In fact, there are no venomous snakes in Maine any more.  We use to have Timber Rattlesnakes, in fact, there is a Rattlesnake Mountain not far from me, but they disappeared decades ago sadly.

So another day of critter watching around here.  There always seems to be someone to observe and marvel at.  Tootsie still comes by herself now on occasion.  I am hoping she will bring me her young ones to see soon. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.