Hanging on

Day 12.....
Yesterday at lunch time the hospital said it wouldn't be more than 24 hours, it's 6pm now... I am resigned to fate.


This morning I looked at Mum’s will and she states that she would like her body to be left to whoever may need it, the NHS don’t take anything from people who have had Neurological problems so the donor form she filled out is of no use in fulfilling her wishes but the Brain Bank actually want tissue for valuable research into MSA and other conditions. They were recommended to me by a friend whose partner died of MSA and left his body to them. (It’s not the body it’s the brain, spinal column and pituitary gland).


I have done all the paperwork and even if I am away no one has to do anything else.
Lynn at the Brain Bank was so lovely and couldn't believe I was managing to sort all this out under the circumstances but I feel comforted knowing that this is in place as it was very important to Mum.


Because of the bank holiday it may still not be possible but I have done all I can. It will depend on when Mum actually passes away and whether the Mortuary can do the procedures in the 4 days after death deadline as they are not not at work until Tuesday.


BRAIN BANK info



I had some work to do for my upcoming shows and also spoke to the college about the logistics of Zebedee transferring to another course and after that I went to the Hospital with a packed lunch from Max,  my Aunty Bonnie was there, Mum is the same as yesterday, Bonnie said the nurses had given her some medicine for her breathing. It was really nice spending time with Bonnie.


I put cream on her hands and arms and read excerpts from the Prophet by Kahlil Gibran. I don't know if any of it registered... when I kissed her forehead and said I'd see her later if she needs me or tomorrow morning if not, she closed her mouth, Bonnie thinks she knew I was there but I couldn't say....


So for now I plan to have a relaxing evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.