Breakey Blips

By ElizabethB

A bishop with a pastoral heart.

This is Bishop Philip, on behalf of whom I care for my parish vicariously.

He has a vast area of parishes to care for, ranging from the Northern suburbs of Melbourne to the South Western seaside towns along the Great Ocean road.

He is a loyal supporter of the weak and marginalised members of the community, but I am not willing to ponder how this fits with his enduring attachment to the Geelong Cats football team!

He has given me, in his smiling way, gentle yet strong support over the last few years, and always with a sense of the grace of God with us.

His cross, he once told me, comes from Sri Lanka. I looked it up and it is an  Anuradhapura cross, the most ancient symbol of Christianity in Sri Lanka. There are links and memories of stories that attribute St Thomas and Syrian Christians with the ancient church in Sri Lanka. That must have surprised the well meaning Victorian missionaries!
Thanks Bishop Philip for a pleasant and inspiring conversation on a perfect Autumn day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.