Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Brian and Bert visit

JR went off to the gym this morning - what stamina and determination she has! I relaxed in the front garden with Archie, and it was a much more pleasant temperature (17° as opposed to over 30° yesterday!)

In the heat yesterday, I realised that I'm just not equipped (sartorially) for hot weather holidays. So I was easily persuaded by JR to pop along to a nearby shopping centre to avail myself of their 25% off sale. I got quite a few suitable items and feel I'm now almost ready for temperatures above 25°. I have to buy things that cover up my bingo wings, elephant-knee elbows and multiple muffin-tops (these are all relatively new additions).while remaining relatively cool. Yes, I prefer Scottish summers, truth be told. And cramping toes still make most footwear, after a wee while, uncomfortable. Hmmm... perhaps I should just stay at home...

We then took Archie up the hill. It was a perfect temperature. Once again, we went up to the summit the steep way. I remember I had such trouble getting up there with my old knees, but now I can climb up (slowly) without stopping!

Archie was barking while playing with his ball in the back garden, and a wee schnauzer head appeared over the wall! It was Brian - his dad lifts him up and he's done it a few times now. Then another little schnauzer head appeared - Bert! Archie was lifted up to the roof of our shed to say hello. Then both neighbouring dogs jumped down on to the shed. Cute.

We've been avoiding Bert while he was a puppy because of Archie's insane, irrational hatred of puppies. But Bert is now six months old, and to our relief, Archie now considers him grown up enough to ignore.

Hopefully we'll have many evenings when they can hop across the wall and have a play together. And with Bailey there too - four of 'em - that'll be a good photo!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.