FloydOnFilm

By FloydOnFilm

Memories

In 1974 I was at the FA Cup semi-final between Newcastle and Burnley with my father. It was staged at Hillsborough in Sheffield. The worst thing that happened to us that day was that the car broke down on route. Newcastle won 2-0 with two goals from Malcolm Macdonald. I was delighted.

The following month I was at Wembley to see Newcastle humiliated 3-0 by Liverpool. I was devastated.

Fifteen years later at Hillsborough we all learnt the true meaning of devastation. What has happened in the last 23 years is nothing short of scandalous. I hope the publishing of yesterday's report is the beginning of the end of the struggle for justice for the families of the 96 who lost their lives in 1989.

Sometimes we need to remember football is supposed to be a game. It shouldn't be life and death.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.