Life In Wales

By KarenC

A Forest Adventure...

I set out this morning for at 8km forest walk with Shoemum. Louis had to go for grooming so I dropped him off on the way, and for a change we didn't have the dogs with us and could walk at a reasonable pace, stopping to take the odd 'blip' of course.

On reaching the lake we saw this lovely Heron who was sat on a log at the far side. I had to use my zoom so he's not perfectly in focus, and there are also so many reflections in the water, but I'm pleased with the end result.

However, when we got back to our cars, Fiona found that her mobile phone had dropped out of her pocket somewhere in the forest. I had to go and collect Louis, but then drove straight back to the forest and we set off retracing our steps to where we knew she'd last used the phone (which was about half way round our circuit). Despite me calling her phone there was no sign of it so I sent a text asking if someone found it could they please call me.

When we'd given up and were on our way back my phone rang and it was a man who'd found the phone. He'd been to the police station to hand it in but they were closed for lunch. So fortunately, they were able to arrange to meet and the phone has been safely returned. It's so nice to know that there are still some honest people out there!

However, it meant that our normal hour and a half walk turned into a four and a half hour adventure of approximately 15 kms!

Louis was happy as he had a good walk, we've burnt lots of calories and there was a happy ending!

Now I'd better get on with the cleaning that I was supposed to be doing this afternoon...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.