Seafield Hospital

It was a lovely building in its hey day. It was used for over 70 years as the local sick children's hospital but went on to lie empty and then the inevitable fire gutted the interior and the roof.
It was built about 1817 but it's big claim to fame is William Arrol who took up residency in 1887 and pulled the original down. You would think he would have been too busy with all those bridges he built but no he designed this house with it's 'Italianate' four storey tower. It also had a heated supply of sea water for his bath.
After Sir William's death it was used in WW1 as an auxiliary hospital.
Previously I have blipped the amazing outside wrought iron spiral staircase which must have been a fire escape.
I have no tales of ghosts etc and fortunately my daughter only had an overnight stay following a minor skin op.
I am hoping if they build houses maybe I could persuade hubby to move.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.