Beauty is all around us.

By Grace55

Marigolds.

It took me ages today to decide which photo to use for my blip.
I nearly used the quick photo of the Daddy Longlegs that appeared on the stone lintel this morning beside the front door.
The long thin legs and brilliantly designed framework of the body was humbling to behold. They are so silent and I find difficulty as to how to identify my feelings for them, partly protectiveness, partly a respect for them being part of God's creation. They are precious and I know very little about Daddy Longlegs. Not the same as I feel for dear cat Arthur, pure joy and great delight .
Then I walked around with my little camera eager to find an amazing photo of a plant or sign of Autumn.
The weather was low light and I felt low spirited and tired.
Yet the sight of these bright marigolds in bold orange and yellow in a front garden near where I live, appealed to me most.
I love the fact they come up each year in the same place and the photo captures open flowerheads, buds and seed pods.
I am often enthralled by the sight of seed pods at this time of year.
Seeds are usually not bright colours, but hold the promise of the journey through the seasons that lead to the fulfilment of their true colours.
Seeds suggest the abundant mercy of the Nature Realm and the ongoing cycle of life.
In Colins Gem Guide to Garden Flowers it says Marigolds are of the daisy family and the botannical name is Calendula officinalis.
They used to be used to colour butter and can be washed and eaten in salads.
They are an easy annual to grow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.