WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

In the dark

This morning, we went to the church of St Eutrope in the oddly named village of Allemans du Dropt. The local river is called the Dropt, and I assume that back in the mists of time it was occupied by the Germanic Allemani.

Inside the church are some wonderful 15th-century frescos, most of them classic scenes of the last supper, the crucifixion and so on. But the last two panels are wonderfully reminsicent of the reredos in Narbonne Cathedral: St Michael killing a demon, and the poor souls being dragged off to Hell.

The time seemed to fly by; we spent almost two hours quite undisturbed in the church, taking long-exposure photos using tripods and learning to adjust exposure. And, in my case, after much trial and error, finally finding out how the self-timer on my camera works. Then we did some "arty" shots with the lights off, exposing for the stained glass windows. I liked the almost abstract results of this, but rather than twiddle about in Photoshop on my laptop's small screen to improve the effect, I decided to post an almost unedited photo of part of a fresco instead.

I was happy with my day; I feel more confident about managing a tripod and doing long exposures now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.