My alternative diary

By chrisphoto

Mono Monday – DEFINING THE MOMENT

Over the last couple of weeks Starlings have come to dominate the bird feeder. Yesterday I counted fourteen adult and fledglings on the feeder at one time and quite a few were squabbling over the various feeders. Hedge Sparrows and various Tits continue to use the feeder as do the Collared Doves. Having seen the “great gathering” of starlings yesterday I wondered if the starlings quarrelled with any of the other species.

I set myself up this morning to see if this was true or not. My blip for today was one of a number of occasions where a starling was at odds with another bird; this time with a hedge sparrow.

We had our Village fete today and as usual the weather wasn’t all that kind. One of the exhibitors was the English School of Falconry and my extra today is from that display. One of the performing birds decided a young girl’s head was an ideal perch and I managed to catch it just taking off from its perch.

For those of you who watch This Morning on TV we met Phil & Holly’s dog Luna who was at the fete with her trainer who is one of wife’s former students.


With many thanks to SkiMe for hosting a series of fascinating challenges for this month.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.