Moments

By togrrrl

Watery birding before work

I volunteer at a local conservation area to do a census of birds during migration. Every day someone goes out and birds a route an hour after sunrise. We record every bird we see or hear and this gets recorded in a database. I do Monday and Friday.

It's wonderful to be able to witness the changes in the same place week after week in such an intense and concentrated way.

This year the lake water is very high and I need to wear waders! I put them on over my work clothes and wade through the boggy paths. It's near the end of migration - and some of the resident birds are feeding hatchlings. I love it. I may be crazy.

Extra are me in the waders - I just grab whatever are around and a shit of the "path"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.