idilozenel

By idilozenel

17

I turned 17 today. I used to feel like 17 was a an age so far away and I would almost be an adult, being responsible for everything and doing whatever I want. Now that I'm there, I feel like I am still just a child. Surely I am much more bigger now, I have more freedom, and my life is slowly becoming to be more friend-centred than family-centred, but I don't think I am at the age for which songs have been written.
However I have to admit, this is the year where things have really changed for me. I realised that it is possible for me to belong in somewhere. I now feel like I belong in the school, I belong in our small musical groups, I belong in the small chats I have with the guys in this picture. I could not sit on the stage without any purpose, if I did not feel like that. 
My birthday also made me realise something else. As the number of random people hugging and celebrating me in the corridors increased, I realised that I don't actually mean anything for those people, as they do not for me either. Few years earlier, the amount of people celebrating me was directly proportional with how much I felt special and important. But now I see that true happiness comes with less but real people around me. Maybe that is the sign that shows I've grown.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.