Selfies from the Brink

By Markus_Hediger

Closing in

(Thank you all for your many comments on yesterday's blip. It was one of my most rewarding blips ever, I think, because your input added immensely to what I had written. You are priceless.)

1
When I bought my first camera after almost three decades and when it finally arrived by mail after two long weeks of a nerve-racking countdown, I was eager to just take my camera out on the streets, point it at anything and click. I soon discovered that simply squeezing things into a frame doesn't make for a good picture.
 
2
Peter von Matt, my professor for German literature at the University of Zurique, taught me a method that has been invaluable in many situations. It's called "close reading" and basically consists of paying attention to every word, every detail in a text. "Don't ignore a sentence or paragraph just because it doesn't interest you or makes you feel uncomfortable. Don't presume you know what the author means when you come upon a word you don't completely understand in a given context. Every word in a text has a meaning. If you want to understand a text, read the words and understand how and why they relate to one another. That's the essence of literature." The same, he said, applied to writing a text: Don't clutter it with words that don't add meaning to it.
 
3
I apply that same principle when I look at pictures taken by others. I look closely. And I tried to apply it when I began photographing myself.
 
4
Obviously, you don't always have the time to analyze every element of a picture before you take it. Sometimes you only have split-seconds to decide how you want to frame a scene. And sometimes, clutter can be an essential and meaningful part of a picture.
 
5
But looking at my world through the camera and trying to read what I saw taught me something important: I learned to reevaluate how I viewed the world I live in. My world was ugly because I presumed it to be ugly. And I presumed it to be ugly because I didn't pay attention. I ignored many of its "words". All this changed when my camera forced me to close in on them.
 

(Today's "uncluttered" blip shows little Alice Vitória with her mother Joyce.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.