A Mower Mishap

Yesterday I did quite a lot of work on our heavy-duty ride-on mower, eventually resolving the problems and getting it started.  Having started it I decided to mow the lower part of the garden which is effectively a thirty-five by seventy metres field, I drove the mower round it once and then started my second run.  I only got halfway round before the mower cut out, I could not start it and in order to push the mower up the hill, back to my workshop I took the grass collector box off and we carried that back to the workshop.  I then went back to the mower, tried to start it again, it obliged and I started to drive it across to the workshop, part way there was an enormous bang from the engine and I think I have broken the con-rod or the crank-shaft.  We took it out of drive and after a devil of a lot of effort surmounted the hill and pushed it into the workshop where it has been ever since, I have not yet looked at it.  I suspect that the only way this mower will run again is with a new engine, which is going to be very expensive.  I did not blip this yesterday as I had already done the blip for the day. 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.