Where little angels don't fear to tread

Today I was down at the Community Garden at Atlantis Leisure where for some reason I've agreed to help improve and look after the garden! With a couple of the Playpark mums we were there to meet a trio of lads from Scottish Gas Networks who have a policy of giving a day to local causes and had contacted us out of the blue to offer their services. They will provide seven men for a free day's work, including a mini-digger and all materials, all free of charge!

We discussed what could be done, particularly the heavier work, and will meet up again when we have gone into a little more detail. The garden was planted for the Millennium, but over the years has got rather out of hand, with shrubs and trees growing together and being damaged. Kids tend to run over the garden and trample the plants and it's all looking rather shabby. 

So I hope we can make some changes, though we'll have to wait until the autumn to move some of the bigger plants around. Then we have to try to find a way of persuading the Mums to teach their children not to trash it! I'm sure it can be done - I was very impressed today by a small girl of maybe 7 or 8 who saw me coming into the garden and actually came back and opened the gate for me, closing it after me too! Maybe she thought I was really ancient and unable to open the gate for myself!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.