Arkensiel Photography

By arkensielphoto

Fried or Poached?

I sent the morning sorting paperwork and two months of household finances, generally getting nowhere fast. After lunch I went into the garden where I took a lot of pictures of flowers and bees.
 
I had forgotten that we have some of these flowers, which are often called fried or poached eggs; their Latin name is Limnanthes (douglasii). I have chosen them today as they remind me of my childhood. I spent a lot of time at my friend’s home and went on many outings with them, they had a car; we did not. V who was my best friend at school and with whom I am still in contact, and her Mum, who was also referred to as my second Mum, had a huge border containing hundreds of these flowers at the front of their home; they always looked lovely. I think I must get more of these for my borders.

Another very hot day, with both cats choosing to be outside. Dougal usually comes in when called, but I suspect that Florence will not come in until very late and then only reluctantly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.