Harri8

By Harri8

isore

"If it's spread to your eyes, it's very serious indeed" said the GP as she unnecessarily tapped away into Google to illustrate the horror stories of what happens when the cold sore virus spreads to the eyes

"Please see this 21 year old lady with multiple cold sores on her chin to exclude the possibility that the virus has affected her eyes which are both very red and sore" she thrusted the letter in to my hands
"Get down to Kingston Eye Hospital pronto" she barked.

By the time I reached the hospital I had already envisaged Harvey with a new gleaming white harness (with fluorescent highlights) to match my white stick, and was wracking my brain to remember the name of the miraculous blind photographer that I've read about.

"Just pop your head in this cage rest your chin on the ledge and press your forehead on the bar and look straight ahead into the blinding light" And with the sly agility of a dentist (you know, when they give you an injection but hide the metre long needle from your field of vision) the ophthalmologist put drops in my eyes.
Did she warn me? No.
Did she say " Right Harriet, I'm just about to put drops in your eyes, do not worry if your eyelids feel as if they are pushing up 20 kilo weights, or if your eyeballs feel stiff and unmovable"?
No, she did not say this.

But the good news is that my 6 cold sores have not spread to my eyes.
Instead, she sent me away with 2 weeks of antibiotic drops to treat the conjunctivitis in both eyes.
Whaddddddddda relief.

Also today, some yob left my wing mirror dangling by a thread, having comprehensively smashed it.

And my laptop combusted.

However, I am very well aware that all this is minutely minute in the scheme of things.

P.S Perhaps the GP needs to go to the Eye Hospital ... 21 ... ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.