Annie and Chris

By AnnieAndChris

Aylesbury Skyline

It has been a while since I (Chris) have been for a walk with my camera over lunch, too many lunch hours spent staring at my computer screen.

This view shows three of the key buildings of the Aylesbury skyline. In the centre is the County Hall. Completed in 1966 some call it an eyesore, I think it has aged rather well. To the left (and hiiden by the trees) is the 'Blue Leanie', formerly home to the Equitable Life Assurance Society and more recently occupied by HBOS and Lloyds Banking Group. Weirdly the Equitable Life once again have become the major occupants of this building leased from Lloyds. This building was completed in 1983. To the right is Aylesbury's new Waterside Theatre, completed in 2010 and part of a larger waterside development. Out of shot to the right, construction of a new town centre Waitrose is advancing and this view will change once again.

I (Annie) spent the day in Bristol interviewing soon to be university freshers from lower income backgrounds for our company's scholarship programme. It involves mentoring, potential internships and a bursary. The students have to complete 100 hours of voluntary work as well as their university studies. It was a tough day for them and they did far better than I could ever have dreamt of doing at their age. I'm exhausted so I wonder how they feel?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.