Wildflower meadow

On a recommendation from Sgwarnog, I headed down the hill, for a change, to our local nature reserve in the hope of finding a common blue butterfly.  Armed with new knowledge about bird's foot trefoil, I went on the hunt.  I did find the little yellow flowers (in the pic too!) as well as a small copper and a speckled wood but I'll have to head that way again to see if I can get lucky with the one I'd like to see.  

I did, however, find my first wild orchid (I hope) which I think is a southern marsh orchid (in the north!) but would happily be corrected if you know your wild flowers.  The reserve is so picturesque at the moment - I'll definitely be heading back there - thanks Sgwarnog!

It was a lovely circuit coming back up through the fields in beautiful weather and I've since spent the rest of the afternoon gardening and painting a third of the shed.  Wondering when Rich will:

a. notice I've painted the shed.
b. discover I've only painted as far as I could reach.

Oops.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.