The Glens

Another day escaping from... stuff. I took the 9:10 train to Blalr Atholl and hiked up (and down) Glen Tilt.

That’s 19 km (12 miles). No actual hills were involved, but being Scotland, it was far from flat.

The Blip is the view up the glen from an abandoned settlement. Until the mid 18th century much of the Highlands was occupied by small scale tenant farmers. Then came what is known as the Clearances. Most were thrown off their land (to starve or emigrate) so that the landlord could make more money from sheep farming or deer shooting.

The Duke of Atholl was one of the pioneers of these mass clearances when he removed the thriving population of Glen Tilt in 1784 - to improve his deer stalking. So glens like this are quite empty apart from the sheep.    

The extra is Blair Castle - still home to the Duke of Atholl and his family, but now turned into a money spinning visitor attraction. I didn’t go in. 

I have my feet up now. I’m not sure what will happen when I try to move.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.