Chatty Acorn Eater

That's more or less what the scientific name, Garrulus glandarius, of the jay translates as. I wouldn't have noticed this shy bird if it hadn't been screaming from its favourite oak tree. We have jays to thank for the dispersal of our oaks. They stash acorns in the autumn and some of those that they forget to retrieve grow into new trees. 

Today's poem is When I Heard the Learn'd Astronomer by Walt Whitman. https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems-and-poets/poems/detail/45479

I know this is not what WW is getting at but though I'm interested in lots of things, astronomy isn't one of them. It does my head in. I like to look up at the stars in the mystical moist night air, marvel at the spectacle in silence and not think too deeply about the whys and wherefores.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.