Anne's Daily Encounters

By dutchdelight

h = √5 − 1/2

My Benjamin pleased with the Dodekahedron I gave him after he'd finished his dissertation in Physics today and mastered his Masters with that. When home and tired from being a little nervous over his presentation I pictured him as above... no need to be nervous as he did well, but who could convince him of that before? Not me.

The Dodekahedron is also named as the Platonic Solid and its 5 equally lengthy sides represent the Elements Earth Air Fire Water + Spirit (Life). That I was lectured when buying this gift at Plaka, Athens, from the artist who'd made it and told me lots like is written down also in wikipedia
As often I noticed how dearly Greeks talk of their history, their philosophers and physics... and that artist had made several stellations of pyretohedron, I liked this one best as it holds the Pentagon, representing the elements + the spirit of life!

In the extra's an image of my son while presenting his thesis ~ sorry I'm not yet familiar with the title of his subject... but he's gained his degree and now finished his years as a student!

In physics the Dodekahedron is written as in my title:
h = √5 − 1/2

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.