the colour green

By jukeys

ticket to ride

Finally got my passport delivered. The DHL man phoned to say he was at the house, but couldn't see a door and was looking at a barrier. It was only when he went on to say he could see some hens that I realised he'd driven up the dirt track BEHIND our house which basically leads you into a rock face (not before hitting a couple of hen houses). Why on earth he didn't just knock on the front door down at road level, I do not know!

Anyway, I feel free again, passport in hand (or really, I suppose, it should be bolted onto my person somehow to stop me losing it again).

Not only am I free to leave the country, but I was free to leave the blimmin' house! Drove into Nyons market and had a wander round the stalls. Bought a coffee in La Belle Époque and got some sundries in the shops.

Helped dad lay the new floor in the grenier and then decided to cycle down to the garden. I took Leo on the lead as I cycled (which was a treacherous decision!). As I was being towed down the lane by the dog, feet off the pedals and going at quite a rate, one of the locals shouted over "I see you've got a new bike with an engine!".

Met Agnes, Nicolas and their dog Mia on the way to the garden, so they joined Leo and me. We picked some butternut squash, tomatoes, basil and parsley.

All of us headed back to the house for a rosé on the terrace with dad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.