Sweet briar

Today was not only the first day of summer, but also very frustrating! I had every intention of going to Warminster to photograph the Marsh fritillaries, but when I got up I had a headache and felt generally 'off', so I decided to wait until lunch time and go then......however come lunchtime my friend rang me from the local pub asking if I had forgotten we were meeting for a drink, oops!! 
Luckily I hadn't left for Warminster, so that will have to wait till another day. 
I was then left scratching my head, wondering what to blip today.
As I drove home I noticed the wild roses that grow in the hedgerows all around Sussex, they are so beautiful in various luscious shades of pink...so what could be a better blip for the first day of summer, a beautiful wild rose...I just wish you could have smelled it too.
My extra is the beautiful Campion moth Sideridis rivularis, a new 'lifer' for me and especially lovely as it is really fresh and has a wonderful purplish suffusion.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.