Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

60103 - The Number of a Train, a Legend, a Dream!

WOW! What an experience!

Tonight I’ve travelled on the famous Flying Scotsman train, and made my father a very happy man.  I bought it as a Christmas present for him, and he loved every moment, as I did my mother.

The train arrived at Newport train station to do a tour of the Severn Estuary, travelling up to Gloucester and then going down to Bristol before it was swapped for a diesel to take us back through the Severn tunnel.

The crowds at the station and all along the route was incredible!  There is so much for this train, everyone wanted to see it and it makes you feel very emotional.  My father was waving to everyone along the route.

However, those crowds also can create problems and from Gloucester to Bristol there were quite a few people who trespassed on to the line, resulting in the Scotsman having to run very slowly.  This meant we were over an hour late arriving at Bristol.  This was close to 10pm now, and it was pitch dark but as we travelled through Yate station both sides of the station was jam packed with people, they knew it was coming and they didn’t want to miss it.

Eventually got home at 1am in the morning, but I’ll never forget this moment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.